Deacons: The Ministry of Compassion and Service

Definition of a deacon from the Book of Order:

The ministry of deacon as set forth in Scripture is one of compassion, witness, and service, sharing in the redeeming love of Jesus Christ for the poor, the hungry, the sick, the lost, the friendless, the oppressed, those burdened by unjust policies or structures, or anyone in distress. Persons of spiritual character, honest repute, exemplary lives, brotherly and sisterly love, sincere compassion, and sound judgment should be chosen for this ministry.

The Deacons Ministry is under the supervision and authority of the session. Deacons may also be given special assignments in the congregation, such as caring for members in need, handling educational tasks, cultivating liberality in giving, collecting and disbursing monies to specific persons or causes, or overseeing the buildings and property of the congregation. Deacons shall assume other duties as may be delegated to them by the session, including assisting with the Lord's Supper.

Deacons Areas of Ministry at Wayside:

Assist in serving the Lord's Supper every other month
Care of the Sick
Grief Ministry
Care of the Hungry
Community Care
Wedding Assistants
Care of Visitors
Visitation of Older Adults
Meal Delivery for Those in Need
New Baby Meals
Nursing Ministry
Prayer Shawl Ministry
Drivers to doctor appointments and to church
Advocacy Team